Cooking House

175 Main Street, East Calder, EH53 0EW

Cooking House

Great Review Score93%
Based on 139 most recent customer reviews
Home
Find
Menu
Checkout
Order Placed
Great Review Score93% Based on 139 most recent customer reviews Back to menu
terribleSarah27/03/2021
Couldnt even eat the chicken,it was hard and chewy
terribleStacey15/03/2021
Food was cold. Chips were soggy. Rice was hard. It all went in the bin. Waste of money. Absolutely disgusting.
badAndrew06/03/2021
Food was great but cold and had to re heat
terribleStephen28/02/2021
2hrs for a home delivery, shocking.
badJames27/02/2021
terribleAndrea21/02/2021
Worst prawn fried rice I ever had. It was literally a few prawns unceremoniously dumped in fried rice. No onion, no peas or any vegetables, not even a bean sprout which resulted in no flavour whatsoever. Very disappointed. Not worth the money I paid as most of it went in the bin. All food was served in nasty polystyrene boxes which cant be recycled either. Poor show.
badEmma20/02/2021
Unfortunately an item was missing, poor customer service upon trying to have the situation rectified, overheard staff swearing on the phone. No apologies offered at any point. First and likely last visit to this restaurant which is a shame as overall food quality was decent.
terribleTony14/02/2021
badBruce06/02/2021
Beef curry sauce was very thick not great, fried rice perfect. Previous meal chicken fried rice was perfect but curry sauce far too thick and spoils the meal. Suggest an option on menu to order black bean sauce.
badJohn25/01/2021
badJim13/01/2021
terribleKirsty24/12/2020
2 and a half hours for a delivery 5 minutes up the road and it was Luke warm
terribleRoss05/12/2020
Over 2 hours wait for our food unfortunatelyHad to call twice to chase it up as did Scoffable too
badJoyce05/12/2020
Order took nearly two hours beef in curry was very tuff my husband couldnt eat it. Wasnt good not to our liking.
terribleJennifer05/12/2020
terribleDavid30/11/2020
Meal arrived 1 and 1/2 hours after ordering !! So as you know the outcome yes, stone cold !! I ordered beef and black bean sauce with fried rice and the black bean sauce tasted like a boiled watery stew. I can still taste it now, disgusting. If I was in an restaurant I would have walked out and demanded a refund. Awful food. The nice delivery driver did apologies for the delay but he is not in charge of the terrible meal I was dished up. Scoffable !! there is not a decent takeaway restaurant in my local area so I will never use you again.
terribleIan30/11/2020
Service was fast, But food quality very poor!Chips over done and beef very chewy.
terribleAlastair29/11/2020
badSharon28/11/2020
Had to wait three hours for delivery ! Was told 1hr 50 when ordered and if I had know before ordering it would be that long would not have completed order. I have heard that they were servings people for collection as prriority and not delivery customers who had paid for the delivery ! Poor service ! The food was good but waiting for 3 hours is not acceptable. They had one delivery driver on and he was very stressed . Poor service but not the delivery guys fault
badGavin22/11/2020
terribleDonna21/11/2020
Waited over an hour for cold food and missing items.
terribleStephen21/11/2020
badRoss14/11/2020
The food is good but unfortunately this is let down by the wait for foodI am willing to wait a while on a Saturday night as realise how busy take aways are but to wait over 2 hours is just ridiculous And the food had obviously been sitting in a car for a while as it wasnt hot and some of the sauces had solidified 👎👎👎
terribleRyan07/11/2020
When they get it right they are easily the best chinese local to East Calder. Of late, however, they have not been up to a decent standard. They need another delivery driver on weekends as the past few times ive ordered over the weekend it has taken up to 1 hour and 50 mins to turn up. Because of the time the food has been left in a car it doesnt taste as nice, isnt hot and chips become soggy. If they sorted deliverys they could be so much better.
badJulia02/11/2020
We ordered a chicken curry and a fried rice, and a Half Aromatic Duck. When the order arrived the rice was missing. I called, they apologised and it arrived pretty quickly, however the delivery driver questioned the order saying the rice usually comes with the chicken. Are you sure there wasnt any? There was no rice, they made a mistake, why was he making any comment or questioning me on my doorstep?The Half duck was just small scraps of dried up duck. It should be whole and on the bone. Shocking for £14.50! Will not use this takeaway ever again.
badIan25/10/2020
Waited long time for the order and food was cold and very bad
badTracy25/10/2020
The food was lovely when inmt arrived but waited 2 hours for it.
badPaul18/10/2020
Food ok , but had to wait 1 1/2 hours to get it delivered when on the site it said 50 mins .
terribleFrank18/10/2020
the service and the meal was disgusting
terribleJordyn13/10/2020