The Sweet Life

39 Main Street, West Calder, EH55 8DL

The Sweet Life

Good Review Score66%
Based on 35 most recent customer reviews
Home
Find
Menu
Checkout
Order Placed
Good Review Score66% Based on 35 most recent customer reviews Back to menu
terribleJake09/09/2021
terribleChelsea31/08/2021
Had high hopes for this sweetie shop as it had a high rating but after receiving my order im sitting here wondering why it has such a high rating???The milkshakes were literally like water it was so not worth the 1 and a half hour wait. Can guarantee we wont be back.
badAmy25/08/2021
As a regular customer, this is the first time Ive experienced bad service and hoping its a one off. I ordered at 9pm thinking we may be too late, but it was confirmed with delivery in 1hr 30mins. Thinking it would hopefully be a bit earlier, I left it. The time passed and we thought it wasnt coming until it arrived at nearly 11pm which was way too late. Food was lovely when it arrived but just service wasnt great.
Reply from The Sweet Life
Hi, we are really sorry that your food was delayed! We have been noticing an increase in orders coming in towards the end of the nights and this has caused a few delays with later orders. Glad you still enjoyed the food!
badAimee14/08/2021
terribleHelena11/08/2021
terribleTanya08/08/2021
Pucnmix missing from order, phoned delivery driver to let him know & was told it would be brought out, nothing delivered & never heard anything back, milkshake was literally just milk & sauce round the cup, no ice cream mixed in like it was meant to. Will never be back
Reply from The Sweet Life
We make all our milkshakes with our amazing ice cream from our supplier so it must be your taste buds not working 🤷🏻 the fact you won't be back again doesn't upset us here.
badCaitlain06/08/2021
Went down hill since new owners took over, 2 and half hours for delivery and portion size is terrible for what you pay. Charged £1 for 3 bits of caramel
Reply from The Sweet Life
Maybe waiting that long for a delivery shows how busy the business has been on comparison to the old owners 🤷🏻 we charge a fair price for the food we send out and if that isn't to your liking then maybe we ain't the place for you.
badOlivia01/08/2021
I ordered my Sweet Life at 8:30pm i was told the delivery would take 1 hr 10. I phoned up asking about it at 10pm and they told me it would be with me in 5 minutes. my order didnt arrive until after 11pm where i had already given up waiting. When it arrived the crepes where cold and looked like they had been thrown about and the ice cream was missing. Disappointed as ive never had this experience with Sweet Life before.
Reply from The Sweet Life
Hi, really sorry to hear about this. We understand the store would of been closed at the time you got your delivery but if you had contacted the store the next day we would of happily sorted this for you and got you a voucher for a new order. Please don't hesitate if this ever happens again to get in touch direct with the store.
terribleMegan31/07/2021
Awful service , delivery time and cold food
badScott28/07/2021
Nearly 2 hours for delivery
terribleD22/07/2021
Milkshakes were like water, would not get again
terribleJames16/07/2021
terribleMichaela30/05/2021
Wish they had cancelled, i had already assumed they werent coming. Ordered at 9 (late but assumed if they were busy they wouldnt still be accepting orders or would reject it as others have done previously when busy), advised 1.5hr wait which i thought bit late but might be earlier. It arrived at 11pm as we had given up hope and assumed they wouldnt deliver that late. Milkshakes melted and went down the drain, churros were nice but would have been better warmer. Would be a totally different experience if the delivery service improved as treats tasted good.
badLaura28/05/2021
Tiny portion sizes and didn't listen to instructions on order
badJames17/05/2021
badKenneth09/05/2021
Took 2hours to get delivered and ice-cream had melted when i got it.
terribleGavin08/05/2021
Constantly extra long waits for delivery. Constantly get orders wrong. Someone was meant to get back to me after a 2:30 yes thats right 2:30 wait a couple weeks ago. Still nothing. Gave the benefit of the doubt as my son was want an Order last night. YET again the order was wrong. Final straw. Wont be using Sweet Life again.
badClaire-Leanne01/05/2021
Sweets missing
terribleAndrew25/04/2021
They sent me a partial order and delivered later than quoted. Never again.
badHazel12/04/2021
waffle and topping had been over heated there was a just burnt taste wouldnt use again for whar we paid ice cream was nice
badAngela06/03/2021
We ordered milkshakes and they were curdled by the time they got delivered and they couldnt be drunk. So it was a waste of £10. Very disappointed.
terribleKathryn15/02/2021
I hate leaving bad reviews, but last night was beyond disappointing. We placed the order at 6:30pm, to be delivered at 9pm. This gave them 2 and a half hours notice to prepare two waffles, and a bag of sweeties. At 9:20pm, we called and asked how long food would be, and were told that it had left the shop and wouldn't be long. At 9:40pm, we were exhausted and called again, to be told (again!) that it wouldn't be long. At 9:55pm, almost an hour late (3 and a half hours after ordering) - food arrived! Cold. Except the ice cream, which was open, all over the bag and melted. Additionally, the delivery driver arrived in a taxi, so I can only imagine that after the waffles had been picked up at the store, that the driver decided to pick up a local passenger, rather than delivering food first. It was supposed to be a nice V Day treat, but spending £20 for two cold waffles, melted inedible ice cream, and a tiny bag of sweets that were covered in said melted ice cream WAY past the estimated delivery time is beyond a joke. Incredibly disappointed, as we've ordered from them before and the service had been decent, but last night was not acceptable. It'll be a long time before we order from them again.
terribleShannon06/02/2021
badFiona27/01/2021
badNicola20/12/2020
Charged extra for flavour of ice cream and never got it
terribleKacey06/12/2020
Waited nearly 2 hours, came cold and waffles n cookie dough was hard. First time ordering and disappointed
terribleMegan18/10/2020
terribleKatherine29/09/2020
Was given a time estimate of 1 hour 30. Food turned up 2 hours and 30 mins later. Was missing lots of items, when questioned the driver said that he had given some of our items away to another customer by accident and couldnt be bothered going back. No means of an apology, lots of items were missing that had been paid for and the food was stone cold and basically inedible. Extremely disappointed as have ordered from there plenty of times before and had positive experiences.
badNatasha27/09/2020
terribleRebecca13/09/2020
Did not rece8ve my order